God, Hear My Prayer…

A poem by Janet Morley. I have lately taken to writing poetry onto prints, as creative prayer or prayerful art… I find it helps. It centres me. I pray in the writing, I pray myself into the writing. It does me good to take the text in at such slow speed as writing requires. “God my Beloved…” It’s reading with more of my senses, if you will. It’s hearing the text with my eyes and my hand as well as my mind and my heart and my spirit. It grounds my busy mind in my body. I come home to myself and to God a bit more this way. If the thinking slows, the breathing slows. If the breathing slows, the mind slows. It has made overwhelming emotions more manageable. It’s been helpful… And I am left with a bit of beauty of my own in the end, despite everything.

This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment