Silence in Soho

Old Compton Street in Soho was packed with thousands of people at 7pm tonight who all fell silent for two minutes, honouring each one of the people who were killed in Orlando.

I felt scared, to be quite honest. Who could tell if there wouldn’t be someone who would use the vigil to inflict even more violence on the LGBT Community?

But it all went peacefully, and it mattered to me to be there; I think it was important to many of us tonight to come together, both to show solidarity but also to feel that we are affected by the shootings not just on our own, but as a community, allies included. And it’s easier to process all of this together.

The London Gay Men’s Chorus was singing after the silence, and I thought they chose a wonderful song:

When you’re weary, feeling small,
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all;
I’m on your side. When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

When you’re down and out,
When you’re on the street,
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you.
I’ll take your part.
When darkness comes
And pain is all around,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

Sail on silvergirl,
Sail on by.
Your time has come to shine.
All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine.
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.

(Here’s a link to this moment.)

old-compton-street-soho-orlando

This entry was posted in Reflect and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence in Soho

  1. It was so moving; I’m really glad you were there also. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

