This Week’s Mudlark Findings…

I’m beginning to identify all of these, with the help of the www and people who know what they’re talking about :)…

I’m very curious!!!

 An 1861 half-penny – my first coin find!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

1st row – 2nd: I think this is Early Wedgwood Green Glazed Majolica Vine Leaf Plate c1860

2nd row – 5th: mochaware, I think, but no idea about the date yet.

3rd row – 1st: part of a bottle-neck, possibly German?

4th row – 1st: Delftware?, 2nd: part of a German stoneware handle?, 3rd: Delftware?, 5th: Cistercianware?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I think all of these are medieval, early to late. If I’ve got this right, the lighter and duller pieces are earlier, and the more “shiny” glazes are late medieval Tudor greenware (1380-1600).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Various tiny bits, most of which are most likely Georgian/Victorian?

Row 3, no. 3 is Delftware.

Row 4, no 2 is German stoneware?

I’m really curious about row 4, no. 3.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Is it just me or could there be a horse on the top right…? – I am told this is most likely just nature’s patterns on flint :).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Some pieces I am very intrigued about!

The piece in the middle, I am told, is Tudor, so 1500 – 1600 or thereabouts. The stone with the hole and the “horse” piece are most likely just flint :)…

The top left shard seems to be sgraffito, that is hand scored into the glaze. Date unsure.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

These look like tiles or something of the kind. Just wondering what the timing for these might be.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Another batch of finds that I am very curious about… Could be something, could be nothing. – It’s nothing :)! 5 of these 6 are flint, nature having fun with the shapes.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Same with these. They’re all quite intriguing and might be something or nothing (…) but I did think that the piece in the middle of row 3 looks like a leg, and could be part of a figure or toy? But I may be entirely mistaken and it’s just whatever the Thames did to a stone…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

An exercise in dating pottery…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I would assume the greenish bit is medieval, but I don’t really have a clue otherwise.

Lots to explore…! I shall add new identifications when I have them…

 

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Week’s Mudlark Findings…

  1. A // W // F says:

    Wherever do you find such magic??!

    Jealous …

  2. Pingback: What Brings Me Joy? – Round 2. | One Blessed Fool's Way to Happiness

Leave a Reply

