Hymn for Holy Week

Faith Fjord

A wonderful “hymn” performed beautifully. I think it fits into the Holy Week feel. Our humble selves struggling to be our best in a world that more and more seems to be asking us to demonize and alienate each other. This song is a request for help from the one who loves us and for strength to live with courage and charity.

Heyrhimnasmiður

Heyr, himna smiður,
hvers skáldið biður.
Komi mjúk til mín
miskunnin þín.
Því heit eg á þig,
þú hefur skaptan mig.
Eg er þrællinn þinn,
þú ert drottinn minn.

Guð, heit eg á þig,
að þú græðir mig.
Minnst þú, mildingur, mín,
mest þurfum þín.
Ryð þú, röðla gramur,
ríklyndur og framur,
hölds hverri sorg
úr hjartaborg.

Gæt þú, mildingur, mín,
mest þurfum þín,
helzt hverja stund
á hölda grund.
Send þú, meyjar mögur,
málsefnin fögur,
öll er hjálp af þér,
í hjarta mér.

Hear…

View original post 105 more words

This entry was posted in Reflect. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hymn for Holy Week

  1. So appropriate on this day of profound tragedy in Brussels. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

