Beloved

 I will praise God, my Beloved,

for she is altogether lovely.

Her presence satisfies my soul:
she fills my senses to overflowing
so that I cannot speak.

 Her touch brings me to life;
the warmth of her hands makes me wholly alive.

Her embrace nourishes me, body and spirit;
every part of my being responds to her touch.

 The beauty of her face is more than I can bear;
in her gaze I drown.

When she looks upon me
I can withhold nothing;

when she asks for my love
all my defenses crumble;
my pride and my control are utterly dissolved.

O God, I fear your terrible mercy;
I am afraid to surrender my self.

If I let go into the whirlpool of your love,
shall I survive the embrace?

If I fall into the strong currents of your desire,
shall I escape drowning?

But how shall I refuse my Beloved,
and how can I withdraw from the one my heart yearns for?

On the edge of your abyss I look down and I tremble;
but I will not stand gazing for ever.

Even in chaos you will bear me up;
if the waters go over my head,
you will still be holding me up.

For the chaos is yours also,
and in the swirling of mighty waters
is your presence known.

If I trust her, surely her power will not fail me;
nor will she let me be utterly destroyed.

Though I lose all knowledge and all security,
yet will my God never forsake me;

but she will recreate me, in her steadfast love,
so that I need not be afraid.

Then will I praise my Beloved among the people,
among those who seek to know God.

b

(c) Janet Morley (from “All Desires Known”)

klimt-danae1

This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

