Pray For Those Who Hide Their Pain

As many of the people around me, I have been deeply affected by the news this week that Robin Williams took his own life – a message and reminder to all of us of the pain and darkness that is hidden in people and that we know nothing about, of the kind of loneliness one can sink into while surrounded by a crowd, and of all those who hide despair behind a cheerful and energetic personality.

I pray for all who feel like he felt. I pray for all who have been tempted or who have even tried to commit suicide before, not being able to see any light inside themselves or ahead of them. 

I pray too for the journalists who use this tragedy as a conveniently scandalous headline.

The thought came to me earlier today that Robin Williams has done the worst thing he could think of to himself. That’s it. And now it’s time for God to do the best God can do for him. And I pray that the time may come when he will be able to accept how indescribably loved he is in God. And I pray for all of us too, that we may know it. Good news are not necessarily easy to believe sometimes.

 

“If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.”

Psalm 139, 11 and 12

This entry was posted in Reflect and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

